Ray  Gerwitz

Contact Information

Ray Gerwitz

Associate Vice President, Deputy Chief Security Officer

Ray Gerwitz currently serves as the Associate Vice President and Deputy Chief Security Officer for The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and for The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston. He is also an executive sponsor for all operational aspects of the institution's welcome initiative, a partnership with the clinical infrastructure team and other stakeholders that provides leadership and informs the building entry, visitor management, wayfinding, and welcome experience workstreams. Gerwitz provides executive leadership to the following units: Uniformed Security Operations, Electronic Security Systems Design and Management, Physical Security Risk Assessment, Risk Operations Center, Risk/Threat Analysis, Strategic Planning and Research, Talent Management, Community Outreach, and Budget and Administration. Additionally, he is assigned development and operational responsibility for MD Anderson Cancer Center's Workplace Violence Prevention Program.

Gerwitz is an International Association for Healthcare Safety and Security (IAHSS) Certified Healthcare Protection Administrator and is board certified in security management through ASIS International as a Certified Protection Professional. Gerwitz currently serves on the IAHSS Governance Committee, the ASIS Healthcare Security Council and is chairman for the IAHSS Chapter. Gerwitz is a graduate of Oklahoma State University and holds a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science, Master of Science in Telecommunications Management and a Master of Business Administration.

2023 Texas Police Chief's Association Leadership Award
2021 Campus Safety Magazine Campus Safety Director of the Year, Health Care and Security 
2019 IAHSS Foundation's Russell L. Colling Literary Achievement Medal
2018 Outstanding Security Performance Award - Best In-House Security Director
2017 MD Anderson Best Boss Award
2017 Julie and Ben Rogers Award for Excellence in the area of Administration Finalist
2016 Outstanding Security Performance Award, Outstanding Security Director Finalist