Skip Navigation and Go To Content

UT Police Celebrates Excellence at 12th Annual Promotions and Awards Ceremony

June 04, 2024
Victoria Vazquez

UT Police Celebrates Excellence at 12th Annual Promotions and Awards Ceremony

The 12th annual UT Police Promotions and Awards Ceremony was held in-person for the second consecutive year, where family members could once again join the festivities thanks to expanded visitor guidelines. The yearly event highlights the dedication and bravery of officers, staff, and community members who contribute to the safety and success of the division and celebrates the promotions of workforce members over the last 12 months.  

The UTMB Honor Guard joined their Houston counterparts to present the Colors, and Public Safety Officer Joey Keenan delivered the National Anthem. 

The ceremony’s keynote speech was given by Fatima Sheriff, Chief of Staff to the MD Anderson President’s Office. She emphasized the importance of the workplace violence initiative, underscoring the commitment to maintaining a secure and supportive environment. 

The first half of the event presented a variety of recognition for and from external groups. Senior Public Safety Officer Roy Lee received special recognition as May's Heart of MD Anderson, celebrating his service and selection for the award in the company of his wife, two sons, and a daughter-in-law. 

UT Police presented Civilian Service awards honoring those whose collaboration and support have been instrumental in the division's success the past year. The recipients were Gregory Botz, MD, Professor, Critical Care Medicine; Bryce Allen, Manager of Environmental Health & Safety; Viharkumar Bhakta, Safety Specialist, Environmental Health & Safety; Caitlin Byler, Director of Customer Experience, Patient Relations; Altrivice Revis, Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer; and Ed Rogers, IT Project Director. 

Recipients of external awards were also recognized before their colleagues. 

Team awards were announced by Police Chief William Adcox, who recognized the multi-player efforts of the Special Events team, Building Entry Planning team, Investigations team, and the most recent UT Housing Fire Response in Severe Weather. 

Sr. Inspector Kenneth Baptiste addressed the audience and represented the UT System Police’s Office of the Director of Police by joining UT Police at Houston leadership in presenting Office of the Director of Police awards. 

Highlights included: 

  • Sgt. Michael Milner received a Meritorious Conduct award for his quick response and bravery in extinguishing a fire at a UT Housing complex during severe weather. 
  • Sgt. Alondra Jones, Officer Roy Herrera, and Officer Roy Lee, Jr., were awarded Life Saving Awards for their roles in administering CPR and providing essential aid until medical professionals could take over.  
  • Program Coordinator Marlene Richards received a Humanitarian Award for the assistance she provided to a young boy she saw along a road, leading to the boy’s safe reunification with his family.  
  • The Special Events team earned Community Service Awards for their service and dedication during overtime work with dignitaries and events. 

In total, 43 UT Police workforce members were recognized and received awards.  

UT Police System Award Recipients

The ceremony concluded with the announcement of 'Of the Year' winners. In what might be a new tradition, past “Of the Year” winners formed a line to greet the new honorees with handshakes and high fives.  

'Of the Year' Award Recipients

We invite you to visit the About Us section of our website for a complete listing of accolades. 

site var = utph