Accolades and Recognition

The IHSSF Lindberg Bell Award is awarded annually to a facility that has demonstrated an outstanding health care security and safety program. UT Police received the award in 2015.

External Awards, UT Police at Houston 

2019 Security 500 #4 Healthcare/Hospital/Medical Center Sector
2019 IAHSS Local Chapter Team of the Year
2019 Pearland Islamic Center Award of Appreciation
2018 Safe Campus Department of the Year, Finalist
2018 Security 500 #3 Healthcare/Hospital/Medical Center Security Department
2018 Top 10 Safe Campus Department of the Year
2017 Security 500 #4 Healthcare/Hospital/Medical Center Security Department
2017 Top 10 Safe Campus Department of the Year
2015 IHSSF Lindberg Bell Award
2014 National Tactical Officers Association NTOA Spirit Award, honoring the UT Police at Houston—the only university police department in the nation to receive the NTOA award

External Awards, Individual

David Cribbs, 2019 ASIS Professional Certification Board Regional Award of Achievement
Raymond Gerwitz, 2019 IAHSS Foundation's Russell L. Colling Literary Achievement Medal
Rodney Wells, 2018 IAHSS Commendation of Distinction
Raymond Gerwitz, 2018 Outstanding Security Performance Award, Outstanding In-House Security Director
William Adcox, 2018 Pete Conrad Global Patient Safety Award
William Adcox, 2018 IAHSS Foundation's Russell L. Colling Literary Achievement Medal
William Adcox, 2018 Campus Safety Magazine's Director of the Year Finalist
Brodie Riner III, 2017 The International Association for Healthcare Security and Safety (IAHSS) Medal of Merit
Raymond Gerwitz, 2017 Outstanding Security Performance Award, Outstanding Security Director Finalist
Kevin Gray, 2015 International Association Of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators Award of Merit
William Adcox, 2015 Campus Safety Magazine’s Director of the Year for Healthcare Public Safety
William Adcox, 2015 Texas Police Chiefs Association TPCA Leadership Award
William Adcox, 2014 National Tactical Officers Association NTOA Spirit Award
William Adcox, 2013 Security Magazine’s Most Influential People in Security
William Adcox, 2013 International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators IACLEA Award for Administrative Excellence

Director of Police Michael Heidingsfield addresses attendees to annual ceremony

Promoted individuals and award recipients are recognized by the department during our annual ceremony. Director of Police Michael Heidingsfield addressed recipients and their families, and colleagues as well, at the 2018 ceremony. 

Departmental Recognition

Teamwork Awards

UCT Aggravated Assault Apprehension, March 2, 2018
Winter Storm Inga Response, January 16-17, 2018
Hurricane Harvey Response, August/September 2017
Burglary Arrest, April 20, 2017
BMV Suspect Arrests, February 18, 2017
Public Safety Officer Staffing Model, January/February 2017
PTC Hostile Intruder Response, October 26, 2016
Assault at The Prairie, August 19, 2016
UTHealth Medical School Burglary, May 6, 2016
MD Anderson OneConnect Initiative, February/March 2016

Civilian Employee of the Year

Latonia Barnes, 2019

Investigator of the Year

Charles Dunn, 2019

Police Officer of the Year

Carl Willis, 2019

Public Safety Officer of the Year

Catrina Smith, 2019

Rookie Officer of the Year

Giovanni Lark, 2019

Telecommunicator of the Year

LaDonna Little, 2019

The National Anthem is sung at the 2018 Promotions and Awards Ceremony by Marissa Nevarez. Nevarez sang "Fight Song" by Rachel Platten as part of the Anderson Idol competition two days prior to the ceremony.

MD Anderson Awards

Manuel Leston, 2019 MD Anderson Educators' Forum Educator of the Quarter (First Quarter)
Mary Gonzalez, May 2019 Heart of MD Anderson Outstanding Employee Award
Scott Barnwell, 2019 MD Anderson Distinguished Educator
Maribel Salazar, 2018 MD Anderson Distinguished Mentor Award 
Marissa Nevarez, 2018 MD Anderson Idol Contestant
Armando Viscarri, 2018 MD Anderson Instructor of the Year, Diversity Champions, Train the Trainer, and 2013 Diversity Champion
Raymond Gerwitz, 2017 MD Anderson Best Boss Award
Raymond Gerwitz, 2017 Julie and Ben Rogers Award for Excellence in Administration, Award Finalist
Armando Viscarri, 2015 MD Anderson Outstanding Mentor Award
Scott Barnwell, 2015 MD Anderson Educator of the Year
Armando Viscarri, 2103 MD Anderson Distinguished Mentor Award
Doran Preacher, 2013 MD Anderson Best Boss Award

Sgt. Scott Barnwell was awarded Educator of the Year in 2015. Pictured here with an education committee representative and award finalists.

UT System Awards

Scott Barnwell, 2017 Police Shield Award
Carlos Guzman, 2016 Medal of Valor
Michael Redmond, 2016 UT System Officer of the Year
Matthew Krawczak, 2014 Purple Heart Award
William Adcox, 2013 Chief of the Year

UT System Police Featured Officers of the Month

Carlos Guzman, July 2018
Sorangel Alvarez, November 2017
Michael Redmond, October 2016
Wayne Smith, June 2015